• Home
  • home
  • ISA World Championships 2017

ISA World Championships 2017

Article Index

It's back once again! The sport's biggest contest series returns, spanning the globe as we look to crown a new World Champion. Now in it's 6th year, we take a look at where we will be headed on this season's road to Barcelona...

The History

The ISA first began to bring the industry together back in late 2011. A board of figures from across the world set up the first World Championships in the UK in 2012, and ever since, we have crowned a World Champ each year with an ever growing series of event's taking us to that final. In 2016 we saw reigning champion Jordan Clark from the UK retain his crown in front of thousands in Barcelona, but can he make it the threepeat!?


The Format

Qualifying for the World Finals is looked after by 3 regional associations - Australasia, Europe and North America.

Each association holds 5 qualifiers* - The winner of each goes straight to the World Championships.

The top 10 of each qualifier is invited to the Regional Final - This means 50 riders compete in the regional finals.

The top 10* riders from the Regional Final go to the World Championships. World Champs places are handed down to the next rider if riders are already qualified, or injured.


Full judging and format info can be found over at the ISA WEBSITE.


*Australasia has 6 qualifiers with direct qualification, and only 9 places at the final